About

This post is also available in: ruРусский

My name is Alexander Ulyanov, and this humble website is where I publish a few notes, both in Russian and in English.

I am 29; I was born in Yekaterinburg (about the middle of Russia), studied English and Linguistics in college (not for long), lived in St. Petersburg for six years, and at the end of 2017 I moved into the city of Vaasa in Finland. This is a small city by the sea and near vast forests, with hares running around right under my apartment windows, and I love it here so much! This is the first time in my life I begin to feel at home anywhere.

I love local history, and, to the point of geekdom, topography, toponymy, and road infrastructure. I know for example entire St. Petersburg by heart, and this is almost not an exagerration. I love travel, especially by car, especially in Northern Europe. I’m obsessed with Nordic countries, particularly Finland and their northermost parts (Lapland), and also the Sami people. I like stories and movies where evil prevails, or at least some really dark and/or antisocial good guys. I like unhealthy food, raccoons and rabbits, being a smartass, taking photos of places of interest, road trips on my Renault Sandero or walking around the city, procrastinating with my laptop and drinking beer, pretty much whatever everyone does. I have very liberal views, and as Dostoyevsky said, that always makes one somewhat of a Russophobe. Nonetheless I’m of fairly high opinion about the humanity in general, and I believe there are nowhere as many assholes in the world as it is commonly believed. This still doesn’t prevent me from being as asocial as befits a neckbeard geek. Although I have no beard.

I work as a software developer in a small Vaasan company, which does P2P financial services. I’m a full stack web developer; I’m most experienced with modern PHP and Symfony 2 web framework on the backend, and React+Redux on the frontend. I have loads of expertise with Symfony, particularly in the area of legacy code integration, which is what I tried to write about here before I got bored. I like Java and C# and C++ a lot, but I only have small real-world experience with them. I used to really dislike frontend and Javascript, but I grudgingly admit that it has become almost tolerable lately (much more so if you use TypeScript). Some of my old code is available at GitHub, but most of what I develop is not publicly available. Unfortunately I almost never engage in any personal coding projects; I prefer to travel and/or write here instead.

I’m not entertaining any job offers at the moment, thank you.

This version of my blog/website was created in 2017 using good old WordPress, but the content from the previous GitHub Pages-based version of 2014 has been faithfully migrated.

Обо мне

This post is also available in: enEnglish

Меня зовут Александр Ульянов, и в этом скромном месте я публикую разные заметки, иногда на русском, а иногда на английском.

Мне 29 лет, я родился в городе Екатеринбурге, учился там в УГТУ-УПИ на переводчика (недолго), потом шесть лет жил в Питере, и в конце 2017 года переехал в город Вааса в моей обожаемой Финляндии. Это провинциальный небольшой город, у моря и у леса и с зайцами, скачущими, под окнами, и это так круто! Это первое в моей жизни место, где я чувствую себя дома.

Я люблю краеведение, в особенности, вплоть до задротства, топографию, топонимику и дорожную инфраструктуру; тот же Питер знал наизусть, и это почти не преувеличение. Люблю путешествия, особенно автомобильные, главным образом по Северной Европе. Совершенно повернут на скандинавских странах, в особенности на Финляндии и в целом на Севере (Лапландия) и народе саамов. Люблю книжки и фильмы, где побеждает зло, а если уж добро — то обязательно мрачное и/или антисоциальное. Люблю нездоровую еду, енотов и зайцев, умничать, фотографировать достопримечательности, ездить на своей Сандерке или бродить по городу, валяться с ноутом и пить пиво, ну в общем все как у людей. Придерживаюсь либеральных взглядов, ну и, как Достоевский завещал, не без русофобии. Впрочем, я на удивление высокого мнения о человечестве и считаю, что на свете далеко не так много мудаков, как сейчас модно думать. Что, правда, не мешает мне быть асоциальным, как и положено бородатому программисту. Хотя у меня и нет бороды.

Я работаю разработчиком в небольшой ваасанской компании, занимающейся P2P-финансовыми услугами.  Я full-stack разработчик, специализирующийся особенно на современном PHP и фреймворке Symfony 2 на бэкэнде и React+Redux на фронтэде. На этом Symfony, в особенности на вопросах интеграции его со старым PHP-кодом, я просто-таки собаку съел. О чем собственно и писал здесь в числе прочего, пока не надоело. Очень люблю Java, C# и Си++, но практического опыта с ними имею мало. Ранее абсолютно не любил фронт-энд и Javascript, последнее время очень неохотно, но признаю, что с этой сферой все стало чуть менее печально (особенно с TypeScript). Кое-что из наваянного ранее можно увидеть на гитхабе, впрочем, большая часть того, что я пишу — сугубо по работе и похвастаться здесь не могу. В целом я, к сожалению, крайне редко занимаюсь какими-либо проектами в свободное время, предпочитая путешествовать и/или писать о путешествиях сюда.

В данный момент я не рассматриваю никаких предложений о работе, спасибо большое!  Особенно связанных с возвращением в Россию живите сами в своем говне

Актуальная версия сего сайтика сделана в августе 2017 на WordPress, но все посты с версии 2014 года на GitHub Pages перенесены.